Vonda N. McIntyre Fireflood and Other Stories-Fireflood和其他故事

  • A+

Vonda N. McIntyre Fireflood and Other Stories-Fireflood和其他故事

作者:Vonda N. McIntyre

书名:Fireflood and Other Stories《Fireflood和其他故事》

简介:This first collection of stories by Vonda N. McIntyre is a dazzling flight of future worlds and future times from the creative imagination of one of our leading sf writers.
Three major novellas are the backbone of this collection:
— "Aztecs", nominated for both Nebula and Hugo awards, about an interstellar culture in which the author reveals what human beings are willing to endure for the sake of space flight.
— "Screwtop", first published in Robert Silverberg's collection The Crystal Ship, a tale of comradeship and sacrifice on a distant prison planet.
— "Of Mist, and Grass, and Sand", the story of a healer in a not-too-distant future, which won a Nebula in this form, and was honored again when the author carried her story forward in the novel Dreamsnake, called by Ursula LeGuin "a book like a mountain stream — fast, clean, clear, exciting, beautiful."

Here are stories with all the modulations of human winged flight, like the opening "Fireflood" with its winged and earthbound races; of compassion between the weak and the strong; of love between youth and age or under the oppressor’s heel. Here are the inhuman machines rendered partially human by extension in living blood and nerve.

These tales evoke complete and different worlds, and leave the reader hoping for more.

- Fireflood (1979)
- Of Mist, and Grass, and Sand (1973)
- Spectra (1972)
- Wings (1973)
- The Mountains of Sunset, the Mountains of Dawn (1974)
- The End's Beginning (1976)
- Screwtop (1976)
- Only at Night (1971)
- Recourse, Inc. (1974)
- The Genius Freaks (1973)
- Aztecs (1977)

此资源代找服务价格为 7.58¥,请先记录下书单ID  PPS9920